Planning Your Deer Hunt Part 3.

Sorry I’ve been away for so long. Real life keeps me extremely busy, but hopefully from here on out I will be able to get on fairly regularly to post about upcoming hunting and fishing trips!

D-3, Bucks Lake, time to get some boots on the ground and see the area. Scouting. I took my daughter up to the lake for a little fishing and a closer look. The lake and surrounding area was nice. The terrain was really steep and rugged though. Access to any areas that weren’t private seemed to be limited. The lake reminded me of a smaller Lake Tahoe. The lake itself has a road going around it which is lined with what appeared to be vacation rentals. It looked like it might be a good place to make a base camp out of one of the cabin rentals, then travel somewhere nearby to hunt. The lake itself and the immediate area didn’t seem conducive to hunting.

That’s part of scouting though. That’s why we scout. Do your internet scouting first, then get some boots on the ground to have a look. For me, the terrain wasn’t what I was looking for, there were too many people, too much paved road for what I want to hunt. I have some other hunting opportunities coming up, so I think I will pass on D-3 this year. Stay tuned.

 

 

Leave a comment